The CMA has opened 20 consumer cases, and the new subscription rules start in January
On 14 October 2026 the CMA reported on 18 months of direct consumer enforcement: 20 cases opened, seven settled, and over £11.8m in fines. It also said the new subscription-contract rules start in January and that it will not treat the run-up as a grace period. For any business selling subscriptions to UK consumers, the contract and the sign-up flow need reworking now.
The CMA’s update, published on its blog on 14 October 2026, is a scorecard and a warning. Since April 2026 it has opened six new cases, taking the total to 20, and it has settled seven. It states that conduct in the run-up to the new subscription rules may still count in enforcement, and that it will weigh genuine efforts to comply. This article sets out what the CMA said, what is not confirmed, and what consumer-facing SaaS and subscription terms should now say.
What the CMA reported on 14 October 2026
Six new cases since April 2026, 20 in total, seven settled, with over £11.8m in fines and over £2.3m in redress.
The CMA has stated that since April 2026 it has opened six new direct consumer enforcement cases, against Ryanair, Euro Car Parks, Microsoft, Virgin Atlantic, Trainline and Red Driving School. That takes the total to 20, and the CMA has settled seven.
The CMA reports over £11.8m in fines and over £2.3m in redress. It says the pricing cases against Gold’s Gym, Wayfair and Buy It Direct produced penalties of over £6m. Open matters include Adobe and the Microsoft 365 and Copilot investigation, which was opened in July.
The numbers matter because they show a regulator using direct fining powers at pace, not a regime still in its education phase.
The subscription rules and the January date
The CMA says the new subscription-contract rules start in January. The post does not state the year.
The CMA’s post says the new subscription-contract rules start in January. It does not state the year, and the commencement date and year have not been confirmed against the legislation. If the rules start in January 2027, businesses have about two months.
The CMA also states that it will support compliance first, but that conduct in the run-up may still count in enforcement, and that it will weigh genuine efforts to comply. The sensible reading is that there is no safe harbour before the start date.
Businesses should therefore check the commencement date and year in the legislation itself before setting their project timetable.
The CMA says it will support compliance first, but conduct in the run-up may still count.
Price transparency and pre-ticked extras
Show the total price throughout the purchase journey, use genuine discounts and do not pre-tick extras.
The CMA’s post says businesses must show the total price throughout the purchase journey, use genuine discounts and not pre-tick extras.
For a subscription business, that reaches the pricing page, the checkout, the order confirmation and the renewal notice. A price that changes between screens, a discount that is not genuine or an add-on that is selected by default is the pattern the CMA has been fining.
These are product and design points as much as contract points, but they end up in the contract. The terms say what the customer agreed to, and the sign-up flow is evidence of whether they actually agreed.
AI providers and deployers stay accountable
The CMA says AI providers and deployers stay accountable to consumers.
The CMA’s post says AI providers and deployers stay accountable to consumers. That sits alongside the Microsoft 365 and Copilot probe, which concerns whether customers received clear choices when AI features were added to existing plans.
The practical point for SaaS businesses is that adding an AI feature to a paid plan, and raising the price or changing the plan to match, is a consumer-law event. The customer journey has to explain what changed, what it costs and what the alternatives are.
The CMA’s cases are open or settled, so none of this is a finding. It is the direction of travel, stated by the regulator.
What the post does not tell you
The commencement date and year of the subscription rules were not confirmed, and the post sets out no new legal obligations.
The CMA’s blog post is a statement of enforcement activity and intentions. It does not itself create new obligations, and the exact commencement date and year of the subscription rules should be checked against the Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Act 2024 and its commencement regulations.
The figures for fines and redress are the CMA’s own, as reported in the post. The cases listed are at different stages, and a case being open is not a finding of breach.
Treat the post as an early warning that changes the cost of delay, not as a compliance checklist.
What to put in the contract and the sign-up flow
Rework renewal, cancellation, reminder and price-change terms now, and make the order flow match the contract.
The following is drafting and design advice, not a statement of what the new rules require. It should be checked against the legislation once the commencement details are confirmed.
- Total price terms, stating the price payable including mandatory fees, and matching the pricing page, checkout and renewal notice to it.
- Renewal and cancellation, setting out how a subscription renews, how it can be cancelled and when reminder notices are sent, in terms the customer can find and follow.
- Price and plan changes, including changes tied to bundled AI features, with advance notice and a clear option to decline or leave.
- No pre-ticked extras, so optional add-ons require a positive choice, and the contract says which items are optional.
- Vendor warranties, where a platform, reseller or marketing vendor handles sign-up or advertising, warranting that its flows and copy comply, with an indemnity for regulatory penalties and redress.
Questions this raises
Six questions this development tends to prompt, answered directly.
What did the CMA report on 14 October 2026?
The CMA reported on 18 months of direct consumer enforcement. Since April 2026 it has opened six new cases, taking the total to 20, and has settled seven, with over £11.8m in fines and over £2.3m in redress.
Which businesses are in the new cases?
The CMA says the six new cases since April 2026 concern Ryanair, Euro Car Parks, Microsoft, Virgin Atlantic, Trainline and Red Driving School. Open matters also include Adobe. A case being open is not a finding of breach.
When do the new subscription-contract rules start?
The CMA says they start in January. Its post does not state the year, so the commencement date and year should be checked in the legislation before relying on a date.
Is there a grace period before the rules start?
No. The CMA says it will support compliance first, but that conduct in the run-up may still count in enforcement, and it will weigh genuine efforts to comply.
What does the CMA expect on pricing?
It says businesses must show the total price throughout the purchase journey, use genuine discounts and not pre-tick extras.
Does this affect AI features added to subscriptions?
Yes. The CMA says AI providers and deployers stay accountable to consumers, and its Microsoft 365 and Copilot investigation concerns how customers were told about AI features added to existing plans.
Sources
- Competition and Markets Authority, Direct consumer enforcement: 18 months on, competitionandmarkets.blog.gov.uk, 14 October 2026.
Are your subscription terms ready for January?
Eliga provides embedded commercial and technology counsel to scaling businesses. We can review your consumer terms, renewal flows and vendor contracts against the CMA direction of travel before the new rules start.
This article reflects the law of England and Wales and the United Kingdom as at its date. It is general information, not legal advice. The commencement date and year of the subscription rules were not confirmed. Take specific advice on your own terms.
